Litter Prevention Grant

Application Open: October 1
Submission Deadline: December 15
Award Announced: January 29

Apply for the Grant


All litter control organizations, government departments, government organizations, non-profit organizations in South Carolina are eligible to apply for these funds.

LEVELS OF FUNDING:             

The Litter Prevention Grant is a competitive grant that provides organizations up to $10,000 to develop successful anti-litter programs and enforcement activities at the local level.

Eligible grant activities may include any combination of the following:

  • Community involvement cleanups and awareness campaigns
  • Illegal dumpsite remediation and removal
  • Adopt-A-Highway/Court Ordered Community Cleanup Programs
  • Equipment Needed for Litter Enforcement
  • Tarp campaigns
  • Litter grabbers and heavy duty or OSHA materials for litter removal
  • CPTED Projects (Crime Prevention Through Environmental Design) such as public art project, lighting, litter cleanup
  • Trash Cans

Donated Items: Supplies needed for litter pickup events: Bags, Gloves, Safety Vests



2020 Grant Winners

County Organization Award
Aiken Aiken County Code Enforcement $ 4,506.00
Aiken Aiken County Government, Adopt-A-Highway $4,099.00
Bamberg Bamberg County $ 6,160.00
Barnwell Barnwell County Sheriff’s Office $4,092.00
Beaufort Beaufort County $7,500.00
Charleston Charleston County Environmental Management $6,000.00
Chester Chester County Litter Enforcement $3,950.00
Abbeville City of Abbeville $5,600.00
Barnwell City of Barnwell $5,400.00
Pickens City of Liberty $5,000.00
York City of Rock Hill $4,297.00
Colleton City of Walterboro/City Appearance Board $1,500.00
Lexington City of West Columbia $1,125.00
York City of York $5,000.00
Clarendon Clarendon County $8,519.00
Kershaw Clean Community Commission $4,600.00
Dorchester Dorchester County Public Works/Solid Waste $9,000.00
Oconee Friends of Jocassee, Inc. $1,000.00
Lexington Friends of the Edisto FRED $5,000.00
Richland Gills Creek Watershed Association $2,725.00
Greenwood Greenwood County $5,227.00
Jasper Jasper County Sheriff’s Office $9,500.00
Lancaster Lancaster County Stormwater $8,950.00
Laurens Laurens County Chamber of Commerce $3,420.00
Lexington Lexington County Solid Waste Management $ 4,430.00
Marion Marion County $2,000.00
Orangeburg Orangeburg County Litter Control $4,473.00
Richland Palmetto Conservation Foundation $4,750.00
Beaufort Port Royal Police Department / Codes / Litter / Marine Patrol $3,700.00
Laurens Presbyterian College $4,750.00
Darlington SC Dept. of Natural Resources (Darlington County) $5,000.00
Dorchester SC Dept. of Natural Resources (Dorchester County) $3,047.00
Greenwood SC Dept. of Natural Resources (Greenwood County) $4,938.00
Saluda SC Dept. of Natural Resources (Saluda County) $3,738.00
Laurens SC Dept. of Natural Resources (Unit 1D – Laurens County) $4,703.00
Lexington Town of Batesburg-Leesville $5,000.00
Aiken Town of Jackson $4,320.00
Williamsburg Town of Kingstree $5,000.00
Jasper Town of Ridgeland $5,000.00
Greenwood Town of Ware Shoals $5,000.00
Beaufort USC Dept. of Natural Sciences $3,917.00
Spartanburg Wellford Police Department $360.00
York York County Collection & Recycling $3,000.00

Stay Informed

Event info and news in your inbox.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.