Working together for a litter-free South Carolina

In 1999, Executive Order No. 99-20 established the South Carolina Governor’s Task Force on Litter to lead the fight against litter in our state. By 2001, the Task Force effectively established PalmettoPride as a non-profit, 501(c) 3 organization that is a true public/private partnership comprised of state agencies, concerned citizens, corporate sponsors, and community and civic organizations with the stated goal of encouraging “behavioral change” in our citizens about litter.

Through numerous programs and events, our organization aims to educate the public on the impacts of litter to help prevent it, enforce the current litter laws, bring awareness to the issue, and encourage and empower groups to take ownership of their communities to pick up. Keep South Carolina Beautiful falls under PalmettoPride’s umbrella of statewide programs targeting litter. Currently, there are 38 local affiliates within Keep South Carolina Beautiful that are supported with PalmettoPride grant funding and technical assistance.

Surveys suggest that over 80% of people who litter do so intentionally. Changing this intentional behavior isn’t going to happen overnight. We fight to eradicate litter and change the behavior of those that litter through four different avenues. Our Education efforts have reached hundreds of thousands of South Carolina school children through our anti-litter curriculum, marionette show and various other programs. We work closely with law Enforcement to provide training, tools and resources to assist in the enforcement of state and local litter laws. We raise Awareness of litter in South Carolina to let people know reducing litter isn’t just about beautification, it’s about economic development. We work with hundreds of local organizations and thousands of volunteers on Pickup efforts that have dramatically reduced litter.

Board of Directors

SC Code § 37-29-110 (2022) PalmettoPride is governed by a board of directors composed of eleven members to be appointed as follows: five members of the public must be appointed by the Governor; three members must be appointed by the President Pro Tempore of the Senate, to include one Senator and two members of the public; three members must be appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives, to include one member of the House of Representatives and two members of the public.

The members of the board shall elect the chairman of the board from among the public members. The board members shall serve terms of four years. A vacancy that occurs on the board must be filled by appointment by the Governor, the President Pro Tempore of the Senate, or the Speaker of the House of Representatives, as appropriate, for the remainder of the unexpired term.

FY2024 PalmettoPride Board

Jane Pigg, Chair

William D. Johnson

The Honorable Sandy Senn

The Honorable Ashley Trantham

Emily Bedenbaugh

Thomas Mullikin, Jr.

Katie Callahan

Ladson Fishburne

Paul Hamberis

Allison Harvey

Chris Campbell

Partners in Pride

Our partnerships are an essential element to the success of PalmettoPride. Ranging from a national park to a statewide association, the commitment to a clean South Carolina leads us forward on a daily basis.