PalmettoPride Announces 2022 Litter Trashes Everyone Art Contest Winners

Columbia, SC (May 9, 2022) – PalmettoPride announced on Friday, May 6, 2022, the 2022 winners of their annual Litter Trashes Everyone Art Contest. Johann Xeller from Sundrops Montessori School in Mount Pleasant is the statewide winner. His drawing will appear on PalmettoPride’s volunteer t-shirts for fiscal year 2022-2023.


“Education is key to behavior change. This program is a creative and easy way for our schools to educate students about the effects of litter on our environment,” said Sarah Lyles, Executive Director of PalmettoPride.


In addition to the winner’s artwork adorning the t-shirts, the school and art teacher received a monetary awards for art supplies. Xeller also received a monetary award.


PalmettoPride recognizes winners from four regions with awards to the students, teachers and schools.


Regional winners are as follows:

Pee Dee Regional Winner—Jasper Frick, Waterway Elementary, Little River

Upstate Regional Winner—Isabella Skias, Tigerville Elementary, Taylors

Low Country Regional Winner—Aubrey Turley, Hilton Head Island Elementary

Midlands Regional Winner—Cooper Ramsden, Fairfield Magnet School for Math & Science, Fairfield County


PalmettoPride’s art contest has one of the highest participation rates compared to other states with similar programs. The organization has several Education programs for students in grades k-12, including anti-litter curriculum, Litter Free Games and the popular Litter Trashes Everyone Marionette Show.


Below, please find .png files of each winning artwork.


For more information on PalmettoPride contact


#  #  #

PalmettoPride is working towards a litter-free South Carolina. Created as a legislative initiative to fight litter and help beautify South Carolina by engaging citizens to take action in their communities through education, enforcement, awareness and pickup.


Statewide Winner – Johann Xeller, Sundrops Montessori School, Mount Pleasant
Upstate Regional Winner – Isabella Skias, Tigerville Elementary, Taylors
Pee Dee Regional Winner – Jasper Frick, Waterway Elementary, Little River
Midlands Regional Winner – Cooper Ramsden, Fairfield Magnet School for Math & Science, Fairfield
Low Country Regional Winner – Aubrey Turley, Hilton Head Island Elementary
Back to News