Pee Dee Media Executive Jane Pigg Takes Leadership of PalmettoPride Board

Columbia, SC (October 13, 2023) – Jane Elizabeth Davis Pigg was named chairman of the Board of PalmettoPride, succeeding Tom Bailey who retired after serving as chairman since 2006. A PalmettoPride board member since 2021, Pigg is passionate about litter and the correcting the negative influence it has on the landscape and in the minds of citizens.  She has used her radio, newspaper and digital information resources to encourage residents not to litter.  Motivated to improve her community, Pigg organized the first countywide litter cleanup for Chesterfield County.

PalmettoPride is governed by a board of directors composed of eleven members to be appointed as follows: five members of the public must be appointed by the South Carolina Governor; three members must be appointed by the President Pro Tempore of the Senate, to include one Senator and two members of the public; three members must be appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives, to include one member of the House of Representatives and two members of the public. The members of the board elect the chairman of the board from among the public members.

Pigg is the president and CEO of Pee Dee Broadcasting LLC, licensee of MyFM 93.9 WCRE-FM and 1420 WCRE-AM, licensed to Cheraw, SC.  She is also the president and CEO Pee Dee Publishing LLC, and publisher of The Link, an award-winning weekly newspaper that serves the upper Pee Dee region of South Carolina and does commercial printing for business and industry.  “One of PalmettoPride’s primary objectives is to engage South Carolina residents with anti-litter messaging,” said executive director Sarah Lyles.  “Jane Pigg’s experience and leadership will take PalmettoPride’s media presence to a new level.”

She is a member and past president of the South Carolina Press Association, a member and past president of the South Carolina Broadcasters Association, member of the International Broadcasters Idea Bank, the National Association of Broadcasters, Cheraw Rotary Club, a member and past president of the United Way of Chesterfield County, the USC Lancaster Board of Visitors, Sunday school teacher and a former Lay Leader of Zoar United Methodist Church.  She is the past president of the Columbia Advertising Club and the Pee Dee Advertising Federation.  In 2013, she was inducted into the South Carolina Broadcasters Hall of Fame.  

“I’m honored for the opportunity to chair the PalmettoPride board and I will serve to the best of my ability,” said chairman Jane Pigg.  “I look forward to helping increase anti-litter education and reduce litter on our roads and in our communities.” 

PalmettoPride also welcomes two new board members, Thomas Mullikin Jr. of Camden and Chris Campbell of Beaufort. Thomas Mullikin Jr. is a graduate from the University of South Carolina, a former officer in the SC State Guard, and the president of the Mullikin-founded Global Eco Adventures,  a non-profit organization dedicated to visiting and studying the Earth’s most fragile ecosystems. Mullikan also serves as the director of public affairs for the Mullikin Law Firm. Chris Campbell is a lifelong Beaufort County resident and serves as chairman of Keep Beaufort County Beautiful and as the president of the Lowcountry Landowners Association. An accomplished sailor and avid boater, Campbell is also a member of the the South Carolina Forestry Association, a past president of the Friends of Garden’s Corner, and a volunteer operator of the Sheldon Litter Crew.

For more information about the PalmettoPride board, contact

#  #  #

PalmettoPride is working towards a litter-free South Carolina. Created as a legislative initiative to fight litter and help beautify South Carolina by engaging citizens to take action in their communities through education, enforcement, awareness, and pickup.

Back to News